Health Excellence: "getIT HealthTourism" competition

WE’RE LOOKING FOR YOUR IDEAS!

The getIT HealthTourism competition is aimed at promoting new digital concepts and ideas in health tourism.

Do you develop innovations in this sector?

Together we can make them become a reality.

Apply by January 31, 2017!

What are we looking for?

The “getIT Health Tourism” prize promotes innovative digital applications in health tourism that raise the attractiveness of Berlin as a center for health and the comfort of a stay in Berlin for foreign patients.

This can include apps, e-health solutions, online platforms or other digital applications, which

  • increase understanding of the treatment process and therefore promote patient confidence
  • facilitate access to medical data and services before, during and after treatment
  • make a stay more comfortable
  • link the sectors of health and tourism.

Who is eligible to enter?

The ideas competition is aimed at start-ups, established companies, research facilities and also individuals. The only requirement is that the applicant’s location / place of business is in Berlin or Brandenburg.

How do I enter?

To enter the competition, simply submit a project outline to get-it(at)berlin-partner(dot)de. You can submit your outline in a digital or written format. Concepts submitted in a written form must not exceed 10 Din A4 pages or 10MB, and should be in PDF format. Videos must not be longer than 3 minutes.

The closing date for entries is 31 January, 2017*

What are the prizes?

1st prize €15,000
2nd prize €5,000

All winners will be invited to present their ideas to a specialist audience during conhIT 2017. The awards ceremony will also be held during conhIT, and is certain to attract media coverage.

Selection of ideas | Schedule

An expert jury will assess the project outlines submitted.

The selection will be based on the following criteria:

  • Originality and creativity of the concept
  • Innovative content
  • Practical application and feasibility in Berlin-Brandenburg
  • Scientific significance of the concept
  • Sustainability
  • Client-orientation


The jury

eHealth Expert

Ekkehard Mittelstaedt
Managing Director of Bundesverband Gesundheits-IT – bvitg e. V.
While studying economics, Ekkehard Mittelstaedt, born in 1968, placed a clear focus on healthcare policy issues in connection with the evaluation of the recently introduced nursing care insurance. He then joined Arbeitgeber- und Berufsverband Privater Pflege e.V. and was soon appointed head of the association. He subsequently became managing director of the Lower Saxony Chamber of Psychotherapists (pkn), which he founded and built, before finally moving to bvitg in 2011. Mr. Mittelstaedt has written various specialist articles and lectures in addition to his full-time work. Together with Dr. Uta Rüping, he developed a practice value calculation model that has since been recognized as an authoritative method by Germany's Social Court (BSG).

Startup Expert

Juliane Zielonka
Digital Health Entrepreneur
Juliane Zielonka is managing director of Startupbootcamp Digital Health Berlin, a three-month accelerator program for international startups from Berlin's digital healthcare industry. She has been involved with digital health for many years. Juliane Zielonka is also CEO of eHealth Publishing & Consulting and co-organizer of the global Health2.0 network that promotes innovative eHealth startups with an international focus. Her passions are intelligent algorithms and connected health innovations. As a mentor, she advises the Fraunhofer Institutes about entrepreneurship and business model development, in order to identify potential startups/spin-offs at an early stage. For the past five years, her mission has been the continuous development of eHealth products and services to achieve the best possible treatment results with clinical evidence. The TED blogger combines over 18 years' experience in the IT development, marketing and sales of digital products with the management of global brand accounts.

Tourism Expert

Doreen Chung
Market Management / Healthcare Tourism Project Manager, visitBerlin
Doreen Chung has been involved with Berlin tourism marketing since 2004 and is responsible for various projects at visitBerlin. In the area of market management, her responsibilities include Berlin's presence at the world's leading travel trade show, ITB Berlin. Since 2015, she has focused on healthcare tourism, an area in which Berlin has been heavily involved for several years with its tourist and medical network. Doreen Chung is coordinator of the current Berlin Health Excellence Initiative by visitBerlin and Berlin Partner.

Business Expert

Harald Mylord
Head of Healthcare Division, Berlin Partner für Wirtschaft und Technologie GmbH
Harald Mylord, born in 1963, has been head of the healthcare division at Berlin Partner for Business and Technology since 2013. Prior to this, he was medical technology project manager at TSB Innovationsagentur Berlin GmbH from 2002 and head of the healthcare coordination unit from 2010. As head of the technology transfer centre at Lausitz University of Applied Sciences, he gained experience of the application-oriented technology transfer between the university and regional business. He was also a member of the Future Committee at Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung e.V. in Bonn/Berlin. He acquired his medical knowledge as EU project manager for telemedicine projects and assistant to the managing director at Charité Healthcare Services GmbH.

Science Expert

Jens Juszczak
Head of Medical Tourism Research, Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences
Jens Juszczak, MBA, studied business management at TU Dresden and has been a research associate at Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences since 1999, specializing in healthcare marketing, especially for the target group of international patients. He is head of medical tourism research at the university's Management Sciences Faculty, which was named a "2011 Landmark" as part of the "Germany – Land of Ideas" initiative. He regularly publishes the current market figures and trends for Germany and Switzerland in this field. For many years, he has advised hospitals, government departments, organizations, cities, communities and service companies about the development and implementation of medical tourism projects. He is also co-founder of the "International Patients" Working Group of German Large and Teaching Hospitals. Every year, Mr. Juszczak organizes a number of medical tourism conferences, seminars and workshops. He is also the specialist author of various healthcare and medical tourism publications.

 

The schedule at a glance (click to expand)

Berlin is a magnet for visitors in the heart of Europe, as demonstrated most recently by the record 30 million plus visitors last year. The German capital entices visitors with its art and culture, historical places, vibrant, trendy districts and major music and sporting events. Berlin also enjoys substantial international prestige in yet another area – increasing numbers of visitors come to the capital in order to get healthy or stay healthy. Health tourism has made enormous headway over recent years, and the number of foreign patients coming to Berlin for medical treatment has quadrupled in the last decade.

As the start-up capital of Europe, Berlin is a hotspot for creative thinking and expertise. Young entrepreneurs and internet companies define the scene with their innovative ideas and products.

The combination of digital solutions, health and tourism has enormous potential for development. Medical and non-medical institutions alike will benefit from the synergies between these two industries, and Berlin can set itself apart from other regions through smart ideas in health tourism, developing a unique USP in the process.

The competition is part of the „Health Excellence – Medizinhauptstadt Berlin“ initiative by Berlin Partner for Business and Technology and visit Berlin. The aim is to position the capital region more strongly as a center for health in Europe. Besides digitalization, the initiative is also committed to the areas of networking, trade shows, roadshows and qualification. For further information: www.visitberlin.de/de/artikel/health-excellence-medizinhauptstadt-berlin

Health Excellence: Wettbewerb "getIT HealthTourism"

WIR SUCHEN DEINE IDEEN!

Mit dem Wettbewerb getIT HealthTourism sollen neue digitale Konzepte und Ideen im Gesundheitstourismus gefördert werden.

Du entwickelst Innovationen in diesem Bereich?

Gemeinsam lassen wir diese Wirklichkeit werden.

Bewirb Dich bis zum 31.01.2017!

Was suchen wir?

Der Preis „getIT Health Tourism“ fördert innovative, digitale Anwendungen im Gesundheitstourismus, welche die Attraktivität Berlins als Gesundheitsmetropole und den Komfort des Berlinaufenthaltes für ausländische Patienten erhöhen.

Dies kann Apps, eHealth-Lösungen, Online-Plattformen oder weitere digitale Anwendungen umfassen, die

  • das Verständnis des Behandlungsprozesses und in der Folge das Vertrauen der Patienten erhöhen
  • den Zugang zu medizinischen Daten und Dienstleistungen vor, nach und während der Behandlung erleichtern
  • den Aufenthalt komfortabler gestalten
  • die Bereiche Gesundheit und Tourismus verbinden.

Wer kann teilnehmen?

Der Ideenwettbewerb richtet sich an Start-Ups, etablierte Unternehmen, Forschungseinrichtungen, aber auch Einzelpersonen. Die einzige Voraussetzung ist, dass der Sitz/die Betriebsstätte in Berlin oder Brandenburg liegt.

Wie nehme ich teil?

Um am Wettbewerb teilzunehmen muss eine Projektskizze unter get-it(at)berlin-partner(dot)de eingereicht werden. Dies kann in digitaler oder schriftlicher Form erfolgen. Sofern das Konzept schriftlich eingereicht wird, sollte das Angebot 10 Din A 4 Seiten bzw. 10 MB nicht überschreiten und als PDF-Datei formatiert sein. Videos dürfen nicht länger als drei Minuten dauern.

Einsendeschluss ist der 31.01.2017*

Was gibt es zu gewinnen?

1. Preis 15.000 €
2. Preis 5.000 €

Alle Gewinner können sich im Zuge der conhIT 2017 einem Fachpublikum präsentieren. Die Preisverleihung findet ebenfalls im Rahmen der conhIT statt und wird pressewirksam begleitet.

Auswahl der Ideen | Zeitplan

Die eingereichten Projektskizzen werden von einer qualifiziert besetzten Jury bewertet.

Folgende Kriterien liegen der Auswahl zugrunde:

  • Originalität und Kreativität des Konzepts
  • Innovationsgehalt
  • Anwendungsbezug und Machbarkeit in Berlin-Brandenburg
  • wissenschaftliche Bedeutung des Ansatzes
  • Nachhaltigkeit
  • Kundenorientierung


Die Jurymitglieder

Experte eHealth

Ekkehard Mittelstaedt
Geschäftsführer Bundesverband Gesundheits-IT – bvitg e. V.
Ekkehard Mittelstaedt, Jahrgang 1968, hat sich bereits während seines Studiums der Ökonomie intensiv mit gesundheitspolitischen Fragestellungen im Zusammenhang mit der Evaluation der damals noch jungen Pflegeversicherung befasst. Es folgte eine Anstellung bei dem Arbeitgeber- und Berufsverband privater Pflege, zu dessen Verbandschef er nach kurzer Zeit berufen worden ist. Er übernahm zwischenzeitlich die Geschäftsführung der Psychotherapeutenkammer Niedersachsen, die er auf- und ausgebaut hat, bis er schließlich in 2011 zum bvitg wechselte. Nebenberuflich ist Herr Mittelstaedt Autor verschiedener Fachartikel und Fachvorträge. Gemeinsam mit Frau Dr. Uta Rüping entwickelte er ein Praxiswertberechungsmodell, das zwischenzeitlich vom Bundessozialgericht als maßgebliche Methode anerkannt worden ist.

Expertin Startups

Juliane Zielonka
Digital Health Entrepreneur
Juliane Zielonka ist Managing Director des Startupbootcamp Digital Health Berlin, einem dreimonatigen Accelerations-Programm für internationale Startups aus der digitalen Gesundheitswirtschaft am Standort Berlin. Sie engagiert sich bereits seit vielen Jahren im Bereich Digital Health. So ist Juliane Zielonka CEO der Artverwandten eHealth Publishing & Consulting und Mitveranstalterin des globalen Netzwerkes Health2.0 zur Förderung von innovativen eHealth Startups mit globalen Fokus. Ihre Leidenschaft sind intelligente Algorithmen und Connected Health Innovationen. Als Mentorin berät sie die Fraunhofer Institute in Entrepreneurship und Geschäftsmodell-Entwicklung, um potentielle Startups Ausgründungen in der Frühphase zu identifizieren. Seit 5 Jahren ist ihre Mission die kontinuierliche Entwicklung von eHealth Produkten und Services zum bestmöglichen Behandlungserfolg mit klinischer Evidenz. Die Ted-Talkerin vereint über 18 Jahre Erfahrung in der IT Entwicklung, Marketing und Vertrieb von digitalen Produkten und Steuerung globaler Marken-Accounts.

Expertin Tourismus

Doreen Chung
Projektmanagerin Marktmanagement / Gesundheitstourismus, visitBerlin
Doreen Chung ist seit 2004 im Tourismusmarketing für Berlin aktiv und bei visitBerlin für verschiedene Projekte zuständig. Im Bereich Marktmanagement verantwortet sie unter anderem Berlins Auftritt auf der größten internationalen Tourismusmesse ITB Berlin. Seit 2015 widmet sie sich intensiv dem Thema Gesundheitstourismus, für das sich Berlin mit seinem touristischen und medizinischen Netzwerk seit einigen Jahren engagiert. Doreen Chung ist Koordinatorin der aktuellen Initiative Berlin Health Excellence von visitBerlin und Berlin Partner.

Experte Wirtschaft

Harald Mylord
Bereichsleiter Gesundheitswesen, Berlin Partner für Wirtschaft und Technologie
Harald Mylord, geboren 1963, ist seit 2013 Bereichsleiter Gesundheitswesen bei Berlin Partner für Wirtschaft und Technologie. Vorher war er seit 2002 Projektmanager Medizintechnik und ab 2010 Bereichsleiter Koordinierungsstelle Gesundheitswirtschaft in der TSB Innovationsagentur Berlin GmbH. Als Leiter der Technologietransferstelle an der Fachhochschule Lausitz sammelte er Erfahrung im anwendungsorientierten Technologietransfer zwischen Hochschule und regionaler Wirtschaft. Eine weitere berufliche Station stellte die Mitarbeit in der Zukunftskommission der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung in Bonn/Berlin dar. Seine medizinischen Kenntnisse erwarb er sich als EU-Projektmanager für Telemedizinprojekte und Assistent der Geschäftsführung der Gesundheitsdienstleistungsgesellschaft der Charité.

Experte Wissenschaft

Jens Juszczak
Leiter des Forschungsbereiches Medizintourismus, Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Dipl.-Kfm. Jens Juszczak hat an der TU Dresden Betriebswirtschaftslehre studiert und ist seit 1999 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg mit Schwerpunkt Gesundheitsmarketing, insbesondere für die Zielgruppe internationale Patienten. Er leitet den Forschungsbereich Medizintourismus am Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaften der Hochschule, der von der Initiative "Deutschland – Land der Ideen" die Auszeichnung „Ausgewählter Ort 2011“ erhielt. Regelmäßig veröffentlicht er die aktuellen Marktzahlen und -trends für Deutschland und die Schweiz auf diesem Gebiet. Seit vielen Jahren berät er Kliniken, Ministerien, Organisationen, Städte und Kommunen sowie Dienstleistungsunternehmen bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Medizintourismusprojekten. Er ist zudem Mitinitiator des Arbeitskreises „Internationale Patienten“ deutscher Universitäts- und Großkliniken. Herr Juszcz-ak veranstaltet jährlich verschiedene Tagungen, Seminare und Workshops zum Medizintourismus. Er ist zudem Fachautor diverser Veröffentlichungen zum Gesundheits- und Medizintourismus.

 

Der weitere Zeitplan auf einen Blick mit Klickvergrößerung

Berlin ist einer der Besuchermagneten im Herzen Europas, dies bewies unlängst die Rekordzahl von mehr als 30 Millionen Übernachtungen im vergangenen Jahr. Die Hauptstadt lockt mit Kunst und Kultur, geschichtsträchtigen Orten, vibrierenden Szenevierteln und großen Musik- und Sportevents. Doch auch in einem anderen Bereich genießt Berlin international großes Ansehen – so kommen zunehmend mehr Gäste in die Hauptstadt, um gesund zu werden oder um gesund zu bleiben. Der Gesundheitstourismus hat in den letzten Jahren enorm an Fahrt gewonnen. In den letzten 10 Jahren hat sich die Anzahl ausländischer Patienten, die sich für eine medizinische Behandlung nach Berlin begeben, vervierfacht.

Als Start-up Hauptstadt Europas ist Berlin ein Hotspot für kreatives Denken und Know-How. Junge Gründer und Internetfirmen prägen mit innovativen Ideen und Produkten das Bild.

Die Kombination aus Digitalen Lösungen, Gesundheit und Tourismus bietet enorme Entwicklungspotenziale – durch die Verknüpfung dieser verschiedenen Wirtschaftszweige können sowohl medizinische als auch nicht-medizinische Einrichtungen voneinander profitieren und Berlin kann sich im Wettbewerb durch smarte Ideen im Gesundheitstourismus von anderen Region unterscheiden und einen einzigarten USP entwickeln.

Der Wettbewerb ist Teil der Initiative „Health Excellence – Medizinhauptstadt Berlin“ von Berlin Partner für Wirtschaft und Technologie und visit Berlin. Ziel ist es die Hauptstadtregion stärker als Gesundheitsmetropole Europas zu positionieren. Neben dem Bereich der Digitalisierung widmet sich die Initiative den Bereichen Vernetzung, Messen, Roadshows und Qualifizierung. Für weitere Informationen: www.visitberlin.de/de/artikel/health-excellence-medizinhauptstadt-berlin